The Premonition Years 1994 - 2002 Box Set



    Over 190 minutes of music featuring "Best of" tracks culled from Barber's five records for Premonition during the 1994-2002 period
    5 Bonus tracks never before released on CD including "My Funny Valentine," "Fool on a Hill," "You Are My Sunshine," "So What," and "Santa Claus Is Coming to Town"
    With Barber, featured artists include Charlie Hunter, Marc Johnson, Dave Douglas, Joey Baron, Adam Nussbaum, among others
    3 CDs broken up into distinct listening experiences. Programs include: Patricia Barber Pop Songs, Patricia Barber Standards, Patricia Barber Originals
    Classic Audiophile recordings
    High-Resolution Re-mastering from original analog sources
    Extensive liner notes by noted jazz critic Neil Tesser
    Beautiful Slip case packaging by Steve Byram including original watercolor cover

Patricia Barber, The Premonition Years: 1994-2002 chronicles Barber's 8 year association with the Chicago based indy-label Premonition Records. This was a time when Barber did her first real touring and led to her "discovery" on a worldwide stage. These years defined Barber's career in many ways gaining her the exposure and critical acclaim that solidified her place as one of the most in demand and exciting female jazz vocalists working in jazz. It was also a time when the buzz around Barber led Blue Note Records to enter into a joint imprint relationship with Premonition for the licensing rights to her releases, the first such agreement in the storied history of Blue Note Records. This expansive boxed set -- her first retrospective -- fully captures Barber's unique melange of modern pop, revered standards and inventive originals.


1.     Ode to Billie Joe
2.     The Beat Goes On
3.     Use Me
4.     You Don't Know Me
5.     She's A Lad
6.     A Taste Of Honey
7.     Black Magic Woman
8.     Light My Fire
9.     So What (unreleased)
10.     Fool On The Hill (unreleased)
11.     You Are My Sunshine (unreleased)

12.     I Fall In Love Too Easily
13.     Bye Bye Blackbird
14.     Alfie
15.     You & The Night & The Magic
16.     Yesterdays
17.     My Funny Valentine (unreleased)
18.     Inch Worm
19.     So In Love
20.     The Thrill Is Gone
21.     Manha De Carnava
22.     A Man and A Woman
23.     Invitation
24.     Santa Claus Is Coming To Town (unreleased)

25.     Touch Of Trash
26.     Winter
27.     If I Were Blue
28.     The Fire
29.     Company
30.     Let It Rain
31.     What A Shame
32.     Postmodern Blues
33.     If This Isn't Jazz
34.     I Could Eat Your Words
35.     Pieces
36.     You Gotta Go Home

(Premonition Records - 2008)